An unforgettable experience!

I would rather call it a horrible night or a terrible experience. I can never forget those moments, in one night I; myself have experienced the “law of jungle” where the people were frightening others as it is some kind of a golden chance for them to exhale their anger and at the same time this was a moment of fun for couple of sick n crazy people. My wallet, Mobile got snatched by a group of gangsters. My loss was hardly of Rs:5000(though it is a big amount for me coz i know how much its challenging to earn), but what I saw was something at the extreme of evilness; dozens of cars totally burned on the roads, small glass pieces spread around, hundreds of tyres burned. I don’t call these evils “Human Beings”. They are ‘PIGS’ {the worst title I can give to them …..}

On 27th Dec 2007 I was coming back to home after an interview for MBA at Szabist, I got stuck in a critical traffic jam at ‘Shahrah – e – Faisal’. I thought it might be coz of arrival of PrimeMinister or President to Karachi. I drove my car towards M.A Jinnah Road. When I reached Mazar-e-Quaid I saw petrol pump is sealed which gave me an idea that something unnatural has happened in Karachi. I turned the car toward ‘GuruMander’, when I reached the roundabout of ‘GuruMander’ I saw the smoke clouds, I quickly turned the car toward ‘3-hatti’ after looking at traffic jam there I turned towards ‘Purani-Sabzi-mandi’ then ‘Agha Khan Hospital road’. At Agha Khan I got stuck in the traffic {Bumper to Bumper JAM}. After the efforts of 04 hours moving at the speed of snail I finally reached near Expo Center. There I heard in FM that people are burning cars near ‘LalooKheet’ and It was impossible to cross that road safely. I decided to go to a friend’s place at ‘Gulshan’ but when reach at ‘Bait-ul-Mukaram Mosque’ I saw car burning near Sir Syed University I quickly turned the car in the streets. As I am not aware of places and residential planning in Gulshan after roaming in the street of Gulshan approx one hour more I finally reached the street of my friends home where I was supposed to go but I saw a group of people standing and on the road not moving forward and if there is something wrong going …. I parked my car and walked towards that group of people. When I reached there they surrounded me; they were 15 to 20 mad people having sticks {danday} in their hands and snatched my mobile and wallet.

The snatchers were a bit kind as I requested them to give me my SIM and wallet back as both were not of their use and they returned them to me. Then I requested to give me my mobile back as this is the only thing by which I can contact my family, they didn’t returned it back but gave me a cell phone after that I again requested them to give me some money to reach home, so they gave me 200bugs.

After that I came back towards my car, was standing in a worrying mood, an uncle {I don’t know as if he appeared as an angel} asked me ‘son why u r standing here’ …. ‘From where u are coming n what is ur destination’. I told him the whole story, he said that nothing to worry, park your car in front of my house as the street has security guards on both sides, then he insisted to come for dinner to his place and spent night at his home. After the dinner my friend Maaz called me and told me that he has reached home and the streets are clear now, I switched to his place and spent night there.

Early in the morning I came back to home, when I was on ma way I saw some miserable views. How come the people can treat their own country so badly? Why they claim themselves Muslims?

Allah sab ko apni hifz-o-amaaan main rakhee … aur in jalgliyoon ko hidayat dey …. amen!

Here special thanks to couple of friends n relatives who strongly gave me courage to stay confident in this critical moment….

The Angel Family who allowed me to park my car in there street and offered me dinner and bed{no one does this nowadays}.

Maaz and his cousins …. spent night at his place

Munir, Taimoor, Rakesh, Nabeel for sending the mobile credit

My mamu, mami, Chachooz, antys & cousins for staying continuously in contact with me and giving courage to my family.

FM107 for continuously updating people about the situation in different areas in Karachi

10 Comments

  1. Munir Usman said,

    December 30, 2007 at 2:42 am

    I was lucky that I took an off from office that day (or unlucky, I missed such experience :))

    But one thing is for sure.. you got really decent CHORs that they gave you Rs. 200 and their old cell phone!

    Lucky man 😛

  2. December 30, 2007 at 3:01 am

    @Haseeb : Tough experience you had there . . . . .

    @Munir : You are really Unlucky 😛

  3. faisal said,

    December 30, 2007 at 1:39 pm

    hmm

    dat was some experience…

  4. faisal said,

    December 30, 2007 at 1:42 pm

    abai bhai u missed one thing.

    u shud ve told dem kai tum SZABIST sai aarahai thai (chor dai tai shaiad)…
    n e ways junglion ka koi pata nahi hota…. sirf paisai hi gai hain shukar kar Allah ka.

  5. Om Perkash said,

    December 30, 2007 at 9:07 pm

    @ Haseeb:

    Good to know that you are safe. Damn, you got an exchange of cell-phone for free :), Good 😉

  6. wrathchild said,

    January 1, 2008 at 1:09 am

    That is very sad and at the same time a bit scary. Seeing your city turn into something out of a Hollywood disaster movie is heart wrenching. This is the first, first hand account of whatever has been happening in Karachi after BBs death which I have read and it makes me all the more glad for you and all of my other friends who made it home safely through this jungle.

    With reference to a friend and the movie “Fight Club”, Project Mayhem has started in the city.

  7. tAzZy said,

    January 1, 2008 at 1:36 am

    tough experience dude…good that u reached baq safely

  8. music said,

    January 8, 2008 at 9:04 pm

    very interesting.
    i’m adding in RSS Reader

  9. Huzaifah said,

    January 16, 2008 at 12:15 am

    lolz, I feel sorry for u but at the same time can’t stop laughing on the fact that u walked to them and got robbed by people with dandays :p Khair mayb I would have done the same in your situation and i can only imagine wat u must have gone thru !!

  10. sumair said,

    January 19, 2008 at 8:15 pm

    aray yar mein khud sadar se north pedal ghar aya hoon 4 ghante mein
    socho mera experience ziada acha tha kyun k pedal mein ne karachi explore kia buhut unknown jaga se hote hoi ghar pohancha mein 😀

    maza ayaa par sab kuch safe hi raha sath mein farrukh aur adnan dost the tu in sab k saath tafree karte hoi ghar aye


Leave a Reply

